Christopher Meredith

Novelist and poet from Wales
Nofelydd a bardd o Gymru

To buy books...

...please buy direct from the publishers using the 'Links' page to find their websites, or use the Welsh Books Council's Gwales website here. Or support your local bookshop. 



Seren, 1988, reprinted 1990, 1997, 2005, 2013, 2017 - winner, Arts Council of Wales Fiction Prize; shortlisted for title of Greatest Welsh Novel of All Time. 
Read Dylan Moore's 'Greatest Welsh Novel' essay on Shifts here.

Griffri Seren 1991, revised edition, 1994. Published in French translation 2002 - shortlisted for Wales Book of the Year

Sidereal Time Seren, 1998

The Book of Idiots Seren, 2012

Short fiction
Brief Lives: six fictions
Seren 2018



This Poetry Wales Press, 1984 - winner, Arts Council of Wales Young Writer Prize

Snaring Heaven Seren, 1990   Hear a poem from Snaring Heaven on Youtube here.

The Meaning of Flight Seren, 2005 - longlisted for Wales Book of the Year

Black Mountains: Poems & Images from the Bog~Mawnog Project Mulfran Press, 2011

Air Histories Seren, 2013

Still Air a handmade, limited edition of 50 signed copies. Nine poems by Christopher Meredith and six linocuts printed from the original blocks by Sara Philpott. Singing Nettle Press, 2016 

Hear a podcast discussion of Air Histories here and a reading from it here.


For Children

Nadolig bob Dydd Gomer, 2000, reprinted 2005

Christmas Every Day Pont Books, 2006


Gregynog Press editions

The Story of the Afanc King & the Sons of Teyrnon Short story (with etched linocuts by Sara Philpott) Gregynog, 2006

Cefn Golau: Shooting a Novelist Essay (with a linocut by Sara Philpott) Gregynog Press, 1996


As editor

Re-imagining Wales (co-edited with Tony Curtis; a special number of the Literary Review) Fairleigh Dickinson Unversity USA, 2001

Five essays on translation (co-edited with Katja Krebs) University of Glamorgan 2005

Moment of Earth: Poems & Essays in Honour of Jeremy Hooker (Celtic Studies Publications, Aberystwyth, 2007)


Translation from Welsh

Melog a novel by Mihangel Morgan  Seren, 2005


Anthology contributions 

...are numerous, including:

Poetry 1900-2000 Meic Stephens, ed. Parthian: Library of Wales

Forward Book of Poetry 2014 Foreword by Jeannette Winterson

Best European Fiction 2015 West Camel, ed., Preface by Enrique Vila-Matas, Dalkey Archive (USA), 2014 

The Slate Sea  Paul Henry, ed. The Camden Trust, 2015